Skip to main content

Ninth Judicial District Court

701 Murray Street, 5th Floor Alexandria, Louisiana 71301

About the Court
Court Rules
Jury Duty Info
Divisions of Court
Court Calendar
Domestic Violence FAQs
Protective Order FAQs
Contact Us
Drug Court
Self Help
Caseflow Management
Site Map
Member Login
About the Court

The 9th Judicial District Court is a general jurisdiction court for the State of Louisiana. As a general jurisdiction 

court, the 9th JDC's power and authority extends to all cases of a civil nature including but not limited to disputes between private parties over contract or property rights, claims for personal injury, marriage and family matters, estate, probate and succession rights, and other related matters. The 9th Judicial District Court also has criminal jurisdiction over misdemeanors, felonies or violations of parish ordinances committed in the territorial jurisdiction of Rapides Parish and presides over all stages of the criminal proceedings from the setting of bail or othercondition of release, the conducting of magistrate court for the determination of bail and probable cause, arraignments, motions and discovery, and the conduct of judge or jury trials on the determination of guilt or innocence, and other related matters. The 9th Judicial District Court further has juvenile jurisdiction and presides over cases involving a juvenile offender, children in need of supervision, delinquency proceedings and adoptions, and other related matters.

The first session of the 9th JDC was convened in 1903 after the completion of what was then a new courthouse on Second Street between Washington and Lee Streets in Downtown Alexandria

Court is currently presided by seven judges and one hearing officer. Two judges preside over the criminal docket, one presides over the juvenile docket, and the remaining four judges preside over the civil docket.

  The judges of Divisions A & B are elected from District 9's Sub-District 1 while the remaining judges are elected from Sub-District 2.  The hearing officer is appointed by the judges. Judges are elected to serve a six-year term. The next judicial elections are scheduled for 2008 with the newly elected judges assuming office on January 1, 2009.